Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Extended Essay (IB): EE Seminar 3 and IT Workshop 2

To guide IB students through the Extended Essay process. New format for September 2020.

EE Seminar 3 and IT Workshop 2: Monday 14th and Tuesday 15th July

EE Seminar 3 and IT workshop 2 (followed by Writing Days)

Seminar 3 will cover:

  • The formal presentation requirements of the EE
  • Academic writing
  • Constructing your understanding as you prepare to write

 

It will focus on the Expressing your ideas tab. After the Seminar you should go to the Library to work through the IT workshop 2 videos on your own device.

EE Semninar 3 and beyond

EE Seminar 3 will be recorded and a link to the recording will appear here as soon as possible afterwards.

 

After the seminar you need to:

  1. Work through the IT workshop 2 videos (below) and set up your EE document
  2. Have a look at the example EEs with mark schemes
  3. Construct your understanding of your topic (using the Constructing your understanding graphic organisers on the Expressing your ideas tab, or some other form of plan)
  4. Get writing!

Image by Gordon Johnson from PixabayHave you put your Research Question into ManageBac? If you haven't (or if it has changed), please do that this morning. It is very important that we know who is on track and has a suitable Research Question. If it does change slightly during the writing process, you can always edit it.

 


ManageBac logoYour completed draft needs to be uploaded to ManageBac by 9am on Monday June 21st.

You should then make an appointment with your supervisor for your second reflection session. Ideally your second reflection should be completed and uploaded to Managebac before the end of term, but if this is not possible then please do it as soon as you can after the start of the holiday.

You will then have the opportunity to improve your essay based on your supervisor's feedback over the summer. Your completed essay should be uploaded to ManageBac by 9am on September 6th.

IT Workshop 2

Setting up your EE document on a Mac

If you follow the instructions in this video, pausing where necessary, your document will be set up according to the IB formatting requirements, ready to start writing your essay by the time you have finished.

If you have any difficulty accessing the embedded video, you can also find it on Oakham TV here.


Managing your sources on a Mac

This video shows you how to move all the bibliographic information from your Investigative Journal into your essay, without needing to retype anything (if you cited your sources properly in your Investigative Journal in the first place).

If you have any difficulty accessing the embedded video, you can also find it on Oakham TV here.

Now spend some time 'constructing your understanding' (making sure you really understand what your argument is going to be) before you begin writing your essay. 

Setting up your EE document on a PC

If you follow the instructions in this video, pausing where necessary, your document will be set up according to the IB formatting requirements, ready to start writing your essay by the time you have finished.


Managing your sources on a PC

This video shows you how to move all the bibliographic information from your Investigative Journal into your essay, without needing to retype anything (if you cited your sources properly in your Investigative Journal in the first place).

[NOTE: ignore the reference to a short quiz at the end of the video. This was required during remote learning but is not required this year.]

Now spend some time 'constructing your understanding' (making sure you really understand what your argument is going to be) before you begin writing your essay. 

Setting up your EE document on an iPad Pro

If you are working on an iPad or iPad Pro then unfortunately you will not be able to automatically generate a contents list or bibliography. However you will still be able to use the styles in the Academic Writing Template and features like headers, footers, footnotes and page breaks. Watch the 'Mac' video, below (even though it says it isn't for iPad users!) to see how to set up your document, being aware that there will be features you cannot access.

You will need to manually type your contents list and either manually generate your bibliography or import it from Zotero (see below). Ask if you need help.

Importing your Bibliography using Zotero

If you have been using Zotero to reference your sources (as suggested in IT Workshop 1) then you might want to watch all or part of the Introduction to Zotero video from that workshop (repeated below) to remind yourself how to copy your references into your bibliography. The in-text citations (Author, Year) can just be typed. If you need any help with how these should look, have a look at the Using sources in your writing page of the Citing and Referencing LibGuide. Ask if you need any help.

Now spend some time 'constructing your understanding' (making sure you really understand what your argument is going to be) before you begin writing your essay. 

Where can I get help?

Mrs Toerien will be available in the Library throughout the two days to support you with any academic writing or citing and referencing queries. If you think you might need help from your supervisor, do check in advance when they are free.

If you need support outside these times, please contact :

  • For support with technical aspects of the essay, such as setting up your document or citing and referencing: Mr Foster (CJF) or Mrs Toerien (JAT)  Note that there is also a new Citing and Referencing LibGuide, which contains answers to many commonly asked citation questions. Let Mrs Toerien know if the answer to your question isn't in there and we will add it;
  • For support with locating resources: Mrs Toerien or your supervisor;
  • For subject specific support: Your supervisor. It would be advisable to meet with your supervisor at some point during the two days, whether you need support or not, to make sure you are on the right track.

There is also lots of online support available for the Writing Days in the Working with ideas and Expressing your ideas tabs of this LibGuide.

Citing and referencing

undefined

For detailed information and guidance on how to use sources in your writing and how to cite and reference them accurately using the tools in Microsoft Word, consult the Citing and Referencing LibGuide. Note that this site includes IB specific guidance, such as how the IB require you to reference websites and interviews (which is slightly different to standard APA referencing) and what to do if you are using a source written in a language that is not the language of your essay.

Normal term-time Library opening hours:
Mon-Fri: 08:30-21:15
Sat: 08:00-16:00
Sun: 14:00-18:00