Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Extended Essay (IB): IT Workshop 1

To guide IB students through the Extended Essay process. New format for September 2020.

IT workshop 1: Friday 22nd January, 2021

IT Workshop 1

During this workshop you will learn how to create citations and bibliographies in Microsoft Word (or Zotero, for iPad users and those not using Word) that meet the IB's referencing standards.

After the workshop, you can access support with creating citations and bibliographies on the Citing and Referencing (APA) Libguide, including IT helpsheets for both PCs and Mac users.

Contact Mrs Toerien for any further support or advice.

Citing and Referencing video guides

The videos on this tab are for Mac users using MS Word.

Windows and iPad/ iPad Pro users, please see one of the other tabs
Mac users using Pages or Writer (Open Office) rather than MS Word (against our advice) will need to use the videos on the iPad tab.
Mac users using Safari may have some issues accessing the embedded videos below. You will either need to use a different internet browser or change your security settings (see box to the right for details).

 

Do it now!Your Task

1. Open the "IT Workshop 1: tasks 1 to 4" assignment from the General channel of the Form 6IB Team. You will need to "Open in Word" NOT "Open in Word Online" to be able to access the citing and referencing tools.

2. Watch the three videos below, pausing as required, and following along by citing a source of your choice in the pink 'source' box on each of the three Investigative Journal pages of the assignment. You must have one e-book or book, one journal article and one website. If you have brought details of three sources relevant to your topic, use those. If not, I have provided examples you can use immediately below each video. You do not need to fill in any of the red and blue boxes of the Investigative Journal for this assignment (but you might want to do that later in your investigation if you chose to use the sources you have practiced citing for your actual essay).

3. Generate your bibliography at the end of your assignment.

4. When you have finished, hand in the assignment on Teams. You will almost certainly need to finish it after the session. It must be handed in by 7pm on Wednesday.

5. If you think you need more support with this, accept the Teams invitation that you will receive early next week to Supported Study on Thursday.


1. Citing a book or e-book in MS Word for Mac


2. Citing a journal article in MS Word for Mac


3. Citing a website in MS Word for Mac


Now that you have inserted all your citations, don't forget to generate your Bibliography at the end of the Investigative Journal and hand in the assignment on Teams by 7pm on Wednesday 27th January.

Note that for this assignment you ONLY need to put a citation in the "source" box on each page and generate a bibliography at the end. You DO NOT need to put anything into the "Finding information...", "Discussing the relevance..." or "Comment on source..." boxes at this stage.

We will mark it and give you any feedback you need. A Supported Study session will be available via Teams on Thursday 28th January if you feel you need more support.

The videos on this tab are for Windows computers users using MS Word.

Mac and iPad/ iPad Pro users, please see one of the other tabs
Windows users using Writer (Open Office) rather than MS Word (against our advice) will need to use the videos on the iPad tab.

 

Do it now!Your Task

1. Open the "IT Workshop 1: tasks 1 to 4" assignment from the General channel of the Form 6IB Team. You will need to "Open in Word" NOT "Open in Word Online" to be able to access the citing and referencing tools.

2. Watch the three videos below, pausing as required, and following along by citing a source of your choice in the pink 'source' box on each of the three Investigative Journal pages of the assignment. You must have one e-book or book, one journal article and one website. If you have brought details of three sources relevant to your topic, use those. If not, I have provided examples you can use immediately below each video. You do not need to fill in any of the red and blue boxes of the Investigative Journal for this assignment (but you might want to do that later in your investigation if you chose to use the sources you have practiced citing for your actual essay).

3. Generate your bibliography at the end of your assignment.

4. When you have finished, hand in the assignment on Teams. You will almost certainly need to finish it after the session. It must be handed in by 7pm on Wednesday.

5. If you think you need more support with this, accept the Teams invitation that you will receive early next week to Supported Study on Thursday.


1. Citing a book or e-book in MS Word for Windows


2. Citing a journal article in MS Word for Windows


3. Citing a website in MS Word for Windows


Now that you have inserted all your citations, don't forget to generate your Bibliography at the end of the Investigative Journal and hand in the assignment on Teams by 7pm on Wednesday 27th January.

Note that for this assignment you ONLY need to put a citation in the "source" box on each page and generate a bibliography at the end. You DO NOT need to put anything into the "Finding information...", "Discussing the relevance..." or "Comment on source..." boxes at this stage.

We will mark it and give you any feedback you need. A Supported Study session will be available via Teams on Thursday 28th January if you feel you need more support.

The videos on this tab are for iPad and iPad Pro users, and anyone else not using MS Word.

Word for iOS does not currently contain automatic citing and referencing tools, so we are suggesting you use a free, open-source citation manager called Zotero (https://www.zotero.org/ ). This is a very powerful tool that does much more than you need - if you want to explore its functionality, have a look at the documentation page.
At this level, we strongly advise you to use a Mac or Windows version of Word instead of Zotero if you have a choice over which device or software you can use, as it will be less work for you. If you don't have a choice, don't panic! Zotero is still a good option. Because Zotero is a bit more complex than the tools in Word, you will have a steeper learning curve so have an extra video to watch.
Those using Safari may have some issues accessing the embedded videos below. You will either need to use a different internet browser or change your security settings (see box to the right for details).

0. Introduction to Zotero

Direct link to video in Stream if you can't access the embedded one.


 

Do it now!Your Task

1. Open the "IT Workshop 1: tasks 1 to 4" assignment from the General channel of the Form 6IB Team. You will need to "Open in Word" NOT "Open in Word Online" to be able to access the citing and referencing tools.

2. Watch the three videos below, pausing as required, and following along by citing a source of your choice in the pink 'source' box on each of the three Investigative Journal pages of the assignment. You must have one e-book or book, one journal article and one website. If you have brought details of three sources relevant to your topic, use those. If not, I have provided examples you can use immediately below each video. You do not need to fill in any of the red and blue boxes of the Investigative Journal for this assignment (but you might want to do that later in your investigation if you chose to use the sources you have practiced citing for your actual essay).

3. Generate your bibliography at the end of your assignment.

4. When you have finished, hand in the assignment on Teams. You will almost certainly need to finish it after the session. It must be handed in by 7pm on Wednesday.

5. If you think you need more support with this, accept the Teams invitation that you will receive early next week to Supported Study on Thursday.


1. Citing a book or e-book using Zotero


2. Citing a journal article using Zotero


3. Citing a website using Zotero


Now that you have inserted all your citations, don't forget to generate your Bibliography at the end of the Investigative Journal and hand in the assignment on Teams by 7pm on Wednesday 27th January.

Note that for this assignment you ONLY need to put a citation in the "source" box on each page and generate a bibliography at the end. You DO NOT need to put anything into the "Finding information...", "Discussing the relevance..." or "Comment on source..." boxes at this stage.

We will mark it and give you any feedback you need. A Supported Study session will be available via Teams on Thursday 28th January if you feel you need more support.

Notice for Mac users

Important notice for Mac users using Safari:
If you are having any problems accessing the embedded videos, this is probably because you have "Prevent cross-site tracking" switched on, which is the default option in Safari. You have two choices. You can either turn this setting off and refresh your browser screen (at which point the videos should allow you to sign in and should work) or you can use a different browser.
There are instructions below for turning off "Prevent cross-site tracking" in Safari. If you want to use a different browser, I use Firefox (available free here), but there are many other choices available.

Sample investigative Journal

Normal term-time Library opening hours:
Mon-Fri: 08:30-21:15
Sat: 08:00-16:00
Sun: 14:00-18:00