Music - Recommended resources - Upper School - Smallbone Library at Smallbone Library, Oakham School

Resources for independent investigation in Music

On this page you will find:

This page provides some extra guidance, hints and tips on using the databases. If you are comfortable with using them and just want a quick access list of all the recommended databases for Music, use the A-Z databases for Music page.

Don't forget...

This page is intended to be used IN ADDITION TO the general resources and advice provided on the home page of this guide, where you will find:

Effective search strategies
Books
Databases vs internet
Search tips for databases:
- General database search tips
- Searching JSTOR
General internet searching: finding quality resources
What about Wikipedia?

General recommended databases

These databases are excellent for most subjects.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Thousands of topics covered in three levels of detail.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Guide to searching JSTOR

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Excellent introductions to topics written by authors who are experts in their field.

Additional Subscription Databases for Music

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical, Jazz, World, Classic Rock and Nostalgia music.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The “most extensive and easily searchable online music resource available”.

Biographical resources

These resources can be useful for finding detailed information about individuals, such as authors, artists or historical figures.

Oxford African American Study Center This link opens in a new window
The lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Resources to support inquiry

Citing and referencing guide (APA)

Recommended resources - Upper School: Music

Don't forget...

Resources to support inquiry