Sports (exercise & health) science - Recommended resources - Upper School - Smallbone Library at Smallbone Library, Oakham School

Resources for independent investigation in Sports, exercise and health science

On this page you will find:

This page provides some extra guidance, hints and tips on using the databases. If you are comfortable with using them and just want a quick access list of all the recommended databases for Sports Science, use the A-Z databases for Sports Science page.

Don't forget...

This page is intended to be used IN ADDITION TO the general resources and advice provided on the home page of this guide, where you will find:

Effective search strategies
Books
Databases vs internet
Search tips for databases:
General internet searching: finding quality resources
What about Wikipedia?

General recommended databases

These databases are excellent for most subjects.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Thousands of topics covered in three levels of detail.
EBSCO Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of academic journals and magazines, as well as photos, maps and flags.

Guide to searching EBSCO Advanced Placement Source.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Guide to searching JSTOR

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Excellent introductions to topics written by authors who are experts in their field.

Additional Subscription Databases for Sports Science

Access Global NewsBank This link opens in a new window
More than 7,000 global news sources covering over 200 countries and territories, including all the major UK papers and a wide range of local papers. Includes full-text newspapers, web-only content, PDF image editions, and others.

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A cross-curricular resource containing academic articles, audio, videos, opinion essays and primary sources about contemporary controversies and hot topics. Arguments on both sides of contentious topics are provided to help you to make up your own mind.

Hodder Education Magazines This link opens in a new window
A wealth of Upper School resources ideal for challenging subject knowledge and preparing for exams. Either browse the magazines directly or use the search box at the top and narrow by subject. Extra teaching and learning resources to use in conjunction with the magazines are available.

Resources to support inquiry

Citing and referencing guide (APA)

Recommended resources - Upper School: Sports (exercise & health) science

Don't forget...

Resources to support inquiry