English - Recommended resources - Upper School - Smallbone Library at Smallbone Library, Oakham School

Resources for independent investigation in English

On this page you will find:

This page provides some extra guidance, hints and tips on using the databases. If you are comfortable with using them and just want a quick access list of all the recommended databases for English, use the A-Z databases for English page.

Don't forget...

This page is intended to be used IN ADDITION TO the general resources and advice provided on the home page of this guide, where you will find:

Effective search strategies
Books
Databases vs internet
Search tips for databases:
General internet searching: finding quality resources
What about Wikipedia?

General recommended databases

These databases are excellent for most subjects.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Thousands of topics covered in three levels of detail.
EBSCO Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of academic journals and magazines, as well as photos, maps and flags.

Guide to searching EBSCO Advanced Placement Source.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Guide to searching JSTOR

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Excellent introductions to topics written by authors who are experts in their field.

Additional Subscription Databases for English

emagazine This link opens in a new window
"The magazine for Advanced Level English"

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Full length videos of play productions. Includes National Theatre Collection and RSC Live collection.

EBSCO Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

Hodder Education Magazines This link opens in a new window
A wealth of Upper School resources ideal for challenging subject knowledge and preparing for exams. Either browse the magazines directly or use the search box at the top and narrow by subject. Extra teaching and learning resources to use in conjunction with the magazines are available.

MASSOLIT This link opens in a new window
Short (8-12 minute) videos by university lecturers aimed at 16-19 year old students. We subscribe to English Literature and Classics. MASSOLIT say "We wanted to create something for the students who wanted to push themselves and to engage with interesting ideas and critical discussions".

Other useful resources for English are the ERA Video Streaming Platform and BBC Shakespeare Archive linked from our subscription databases page. They provide access to thousands of specially curated clips divided by subject, including streamed content and links to external streaming platforms, as well as 900 programmes from the BBC’s archive of Shakespeare’s plays, poems and sonnets.

Biographical resources

These resources can be useful for finding detailed information about individuals, such as authors, artists or historical figures.

Oxford African American Study Center This link opens in a new window
The lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Resources to support inquiry

Citing and referencing guide (APA)

Recommended resources - Upper School: English

Don't forget...

Resources to support inquiry