Psychology - Recommended resources - Upper School - Smallbone Library at Smallbone Library, Oakham School

Don't forget...

This page is intended to be used IN ADDITION TO the general resources and advice provided on the home page of this guide, where you will find:

Effective search strategies
Books
Databases vs internet
Search tips for databases:
General internet searching: finding quality resources
What about Wikipedia?

General recommended databases

These databases are excellent for most subjects.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Thousands of topics covered in three levels of detail.
EBSCO Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of academic journals and magazines, as well as photos, maps and flags.

Guide to searching EBSCO Advanced Placement Source.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Guide to searching JSTOR

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Excellent introductions to topics written by authors who are experts in their field.

Additional Subscription Databases for Psychology

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A cross-curricular resource containing academic articles, audio, videos, opinion essays and primary sources about contemporary controversies and hot topics. Arguments on both sides of contentious topics are provided to help you to make up your own mind.

Recommended Websites for Psychology

The British Psychological Society Research Digest is a blog by the British Psychological Society that aims to publish at least one accessible but accurate post on a recent psychological study every week day.

BBC Future describes itself as "a home for slowing down, delving deep and shifting perspectives", and covers topics such as psychology, food, climate change, health, social trends and technology. The focus is on "evidence-based analysis, original thinking, and powerful storytelling".

Psypost is a psychology and neuroscience website rated 'Pro-science' and 'High' for factual reporting by Media bias/ Fact check which reports on articles published in "Legitimate, peer-reviewed journals"

Science Daily "features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations." It is rated 'Pro-Science' and 'High' for factual reporting by Media Bias/Fact Check.

APA PsycPORT is a news portal from The American Psychological Association that links to Psychology news stories in a variety of US publications such as CNN and USA Today. While information on the APA website itself is rated 'Pro Science' and 'High' for factual accuracy, use Media Bias/Fact Check to explore the factual accuracy and political bias of externally linked sources.