Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Slavery (A-level History NEA): Articles

Using academic articles

This is a large collection of JSTOR articles. All of them are useful and relevant (and some, marked with a Star, are particularly useful) - but there is no expectation that you read them all! Skim the titles first, and then click on those that look most relevant to your LOE. Each article will have a short summary (or abstract) which you can use to decide if it is worth reading. As your booklet says, "if an article doesn't seem terribly useful or relevant, don't slavishly work your way through it". Move on.

When you find a good article and start making notes, make sure your notes state clearly which article you have used (and the page numbers of any quotes).

Other databases you might want to use are:

  • Britannica (for clarification of an event, a person or a specialised term)
  • Oxford Reference (which contains electronic copies of a variety of heavy duty reference works and some biographies)
  • EBSCO Advanced Placement Source (a collection of databases similar to JSTOR - but it is worth looking for History Today articles because they are aimed at your age group).

All of these can be accessed from our Subscription Databases page.

Citing and referencing

There is more information about this in the Using sources in your work tab, but the journal references on this page are largely in a suitable format to use in your bibliography (making sure you remove the hyperlink from the article title and put in the date you accessed the article, removing the highlighting). To use them in your footnotes you will need to reorder the first author's name to be "Firstname Surname". Please check this advice with your teacher, who may have further instructions.

JSTOR

Journal coverAnstey, Roger T. "Capitalism and Slavery: A Critique." The Economic History Review, New Series, 21, no. 2 (1968): 307-20. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2592438

The Journal of Negro HistoryBennett, J. Harry. "The Problem of Slave Labor Supply at the Codrington Plantations." The Journal of Negro History 36, no. 4 (1951): 406-41. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2715372

The Journal of Negro History Bennett, J. Harry. "The Problem of Slave Labor Supply at the Codrington Plantations." The Journal of Negro History 37, no. 2 (1952): 115-41. [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2715340.

 

The Advocate of Peace (1837-1845)Beckwith, G. C., and H. H. Kellogg. "Thomas Clarkson on peace." The Advocate of Peace (1837-1845) 5, no. 21 (1844): 241-45. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. http://www.jstor.org/stable/27888560.

 

Journal coverBeckles, Hilary. "Capitalism and Slavery: The Debate over Eric Williams." Social and Economic Studies 33, no. 4 (1984): 171-89. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/27862095.

Journal coverBosch, Gerald R. "Eric Williams and the Moral Rhetoric of Dependency Theory." Callaloo 20, no. 4 (1997): 817-27. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/3299410.

The HistorianCooke, Raymond M. "The Historian as underdog: Eric Williams and the British Empire. " The Historian 33, no. 4 (1971): 596-610. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/24443130.

CallalooDarity, William. "Eric Williams and Slavery: A West Indian Viewpoint? " Callaloo 20, no. 4 (1997): 801-16. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/3299409.

Star Mr Roberts' recommendation

History and TheoryDrescher, Seymour. "Eric Williams: British Capitalism and British Slavery." History and Theory 26, no. 2 (1987): 180-96. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2505121.

Star Mr Roberts' recommendation

Journal coverFergus, Claudius. "'Dread of Insurrection': Abolitionism, Security, and Labor in Britain's West Indian Colonies, 1760-1823." The William and Mary Quarterly, Third Series, 66, no. 4 (2009): 757-80. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/40467540.

Journal coverFisher, Ruth Anna. "Lord Mansfield and the Somerset Case." Negro History Bulletin 7, no. 3 (1943): 65-66. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/44212090.

Journal coverFisher, Ruth Anna. "Granville Sharp and Lord Mansfield." The Journal of Negro History 28, no. 4 (1943): 381-89. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2714946

Journal coverGaspar, David Barry. "They 'Could Never Have Too Much of My Work': Eric Williams and the Journal of Negro History, 1940-1945." The Journal of African American History 88, no. 3 (2003): 291-303. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/3559073

Journal coverGeggus, David. "The British Government and the Saint Domingue Slave Revolt, 1791-1793." The English Historical Review 96, no. 379 (1981): 285-305. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/568291.

Journal coverGeggus, David. "The Enigma of Jamaica in the 1790s: New Light on the Causes of Slave Rebellions." The William and Mary Quarterly 44, no. 2 (1987): 274-99. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/1939665.

Gross, Izhak. “The Abolition of Negro Slavery and British Parliamentary Politics 1832-3.The Historical Journal 23, no. 1 (1980): 63–85. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. www.jstor.org/stable/2638708

Star Mr Roberts' recommendation

Transactions of the Royal Historical Society Hall, Catherine. "Troubling memories: nineteenth-century histories of the slave trade and slavery." Transactions of the Royal Historical Society 21 (2011): 147-69. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/41432400.

The Journal of Negro HistoryKlingberg, Frank J. "British Humanitarianism at Codrington." The Journal of Negro History 23, no. 4 (1938): 451-86. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2714582.

Journal coverKnight, Frank. "Eric Williams' Inward Hunger: The Caribbean as a Microcosm of World History." Caribbean Quarterly 45, no. 1 (1999): 78-94. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/40793463.

Journal coverMcdonald, Roderick A. "The Williams Thesis: A Comment on the State of Scholarship." Caribbean Quarterly 25, no. 3 (1979): 63-68. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. http://www.jstor.org/stable/40653387.

Journal coverPalmer, William. "How Ideology Works: Historians and the Case for British Abolitionism." The Historical Journal 52, no. 4 (2009): 1039-051. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/25643869.

Reich, Jerome. "The Slave Trade at the Congress of Vienna -A Study in English Public Opinion-." The Journal of Negro History 53, no. 2 (1968): 129-43. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/2715372

Canadian Journal of African Studies / Revue Canadienne des √Čtudes AfricainesRolingher, Louise. "A Metaphor for Freedom: Olaudah Equiano and Slavery in Africa." Canadian Journal of African Studies / Revue Canadienne Des Études Africaines 38, no. 1 (2004): 88-122. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/4107269.

Review (Fernand Braudel Center)Ryden, David Beck. "Eric Williams' Three Faces of West India Decline." Review (Fernand Braudel Center) 35, no. 2 (2012): 117-33. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/43551697.

Negro History BulletinSea, W. G. "Thomas Clarkson." Negro History Bulletin 6, no. 6 (1943): 126-43. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/44245993.

Journal coverSmandych, Russell. "'To Soften the Extreme Rigor of Their Bondage': James Stephen's Attempt to Reform the Criminal Slave Laws of the West Indies, 1813-1833." Law and History Review 23, no. 3 (2005): 537-88. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/30042898.

Law and History Review Van Cleve, George. "'Somerset's Case' and Its Antecedents in Imperial Perspective." Law and History Review 24, no. 3 (2006): 601-45. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year].. http://www.jstor.org/stable/27641404.

Star Mr Roberts' recommendation

 

Eighteenth-Century StudiesWhelan, Timothy. "William Fox, Martha Gurney, and Radical Discourse of the 1790s." Eighteenth-Century Studies 42, no. 3 (2009): 397-411. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. https://www.jstor.org/stable/40264219.

Journal coverWoods, John A., Benjamin Rush, and Granville Sharp. "The Correspondence of Benjamin Rush and Granville Sharp 1773—1809." Journal of American Studies 1, no. 1 (1967): 1-38. Accessed [Date you accessed it Month Day, Year]. http://www.jstor.org/stable/27552761.

Accessing articles from outside school

When logged in through the school network, these links should just work. If you are outside school you will need to log in to JSTOR for access.

  • Go to our Subscription Databases page and scroll down to JSTOR for the user name and password.
  • Use the "Log in" link at the top right hand corner of the JSTOR page NOT the "Log in through your library" link or the "Log in through your school or Library" button.

If you leave the browser window open you should then remain logged in - you don't need to do this for every article.

Normal term-time Library opening hours:
Mon-Fri: 08:30-21:15
Sat: 08:00-16:00
Sun: 14:00-18:00