F3 Subject Resources: Home

Climate Change

Your task is to carry out a CRAAP test on the article below and to find evidence to support the score you are giving:

LA fires made worse by climate change, say scientists - BBC News

These sites will help with your testing:

Media Bias/Fact Check - Search and Learn the Bias of News Media

BBC Global news services

You will have a printed CRAAP testing guide and table to help you, but download a copy of the evidence document below to fill in electronically:

This is the link to the original article from Breitbart News if you would like to look at it online in all its glory:

CA Democrat Blames Climate Change for L.A. Wildfires in DOE Hearing

The Electromagnetic Spectrum

Your task is to answer these questions using the resources below:

• What is the electromagnetic spectrum, and how is it organized?  

• What are the different types of electromagnetic radiation, and how do they differ in terms of wavelength and frequency?  

• How are different parts of the electromagnetic spectrum utilized in everyday technologies (e.g., radio waves in communication, microwaves in cooking, X-rays in medical imaging)?  

• What are the potential risks associated with exposure to certain parts of the electromagnetic spectrum (e.g., ultraviolet radiation from the sun)?  

Remember to use one page in your booklet for each resource that you use, and write only the information that you need to answer the questions. 

If you would really like to know more than these resources tell you, have a look at this article:

If this link does not open the whole article, go to the Subscription Databases page, click on Hodder Review Magazines and search for 'Electromagnetic radiation'.

Stem cell articles, media resources and websites

Start with these:

Move on to these:

Try these if you want more information:

For this film, you will need to open ERA Video Streaming Platform from the subscription databases page, log-in using the details there and then come back to click on this link to gain access.

Book sections

These are relevant sections from books that we have in the library:

The Periodic Table - What? How? Why?

Use the resources below to answer the questions about The Periodic Table:

• Why are elements arranged into groups in the modern Periodic Table? 
• Why are elements arranged into periods in the modern Periodic Table? 
• Why was Mendeleev’s Periodic Table accepted by scientists? 

Start with these sources and try to use Britannica + one website + one book as a minimum:

If you want to dig a little deeper, have a look at these articles and think about whether you think the current Periodic Table is the best option in the 21st Century: 

Karneval

In class you will read some introductory material.  Now that you know what Karneval is and how, when and where it is celebrated, use the resources below to find out:

• How Karneval celebrations are different in different places 
• How Karneval celebrations in German-speaking countries are similar to what happens in different countries

In your group, decide who will read each resource and then share your findings.

As you read and make notes, you should build a glossary of German terms to include on the poster you will create.

Resources:

Print resources from the library collection:

Subscription databases articles

(If you are not on the school network, you will need to log in from the subscription databases page and then come back here to gain access)

Articles from Britannica Intermediate:

Royal Army Medical Corps -- Britannica School (eb.co.uk) - this article covers several medical advances that helped save lives during WWI.

Other online resources:

Medical developments in World War One - The British Library (bl.uk) - part of the British Library's digitised collection of WWI materials.  Lots more to discover on this site too.

Print resources from the library collection:

Subscription databases articles

(If you are not on the school network, you will need to log in from the subscription databases page and then come back here to gain access)

Articles from Britannica Intermediate:

abolitionist movement -- Britannica School (eb.co.uk) - as well as the article, have a look at the 'related' tab for more information and links to other sources

slavery and serfdom -- Britannica School (eb.co.uk) - the second half of this article is relevant to abolition.  Scroll down or use the table of contents to navigate.

This Oxford University Press photo essay might also be helpful:

Photo Essay - Slave Narratives | Oxford African American Studies Center (oxfordaasc.com)

Two of the titles in the Oxford Very Short Introductions series have a lot more information if that is what you would like. Use the Contents page to find chapters you might be interested in, or use the 'search within' box on the left-hand side:

Abolitionism: A Very Short Introduction - Very Short Introductions

American Slavery: A Very Short Introduction - Very Short Introductions

There are many ways of making notes when you are reading for information, but Mapping Method, Cornell Method and Outline Method are widely used.  Use whichever one suits your way of working best.  Remember to record where you find your information as you may need to refer to it again .

If you would like to see some examples of these different methods in use, have a look here.