Using the tools in Word to create citations and a bibliography
This guide has been written to support you in using the tools in Word to create your bibliography. It is equally applicable to Mac and PC users, but unfortunately Word for iPad (including the iPad Pro) may not support this feature.
Provided you can access the Word Desktop App on your computer, you will have access to the full range of referencing tools.
Inserting a citation:
If you are including a quotation from a text or using ideas that you have read somewhere, you must say where that information has come from. The style we use in school is APA which is a code that, at a basic level, requires an author, a date and a page number.
1. Put the cursor after the quotation or idea you have included from your source material.
2. Click on the References tab at the top of the page.
3. Check that the 'Style' is 'APA Sixth Edition', then click on Insert citation.
4. Then click on Add new source.
5. Choose the type of source - in this example it is a book.
The source type gives you the fields you need to complete. A few tips are:
6. If you are citing from a book, once you have saved your information here, click on the citation in the text, edit citation, add a page number and click 'OK'.
Adding a bibliography:
This shows the range of sources you have consulted and taken ideas from. It should usually appear on its own page at the end of your work.
1. Insert a page break at the end of your work. There are different ways of doing this, but Page Layout > Breaks > Page is a good route to know.
2. Once you have a new page, select References > Bibliography > Choose the top option - and, hey presto! a bibliography will appear.
3. As you add more citations to your work, you can easily update your bibliography by clicking on Update Citations and Bibliography.
Top Tip: Turning on the Show/Hide feature will show you where page breaks and other hidden formatting are. This is really useful if your work is looking a little odd but you can't work out why.
Adding a Table of Contents:
To use the Table of Contents tool in Word, you need to use the 'Heading Styles' in the top toolbar. Main headings should be 'Heading 1', subheadings should be 'Heading 2' and any further sub-sections should be 'Heading 3'. If you use these, you can create and update a table of contents automatically.
Your Table of Contents should appear on the first page of your work so you may need to make space for it by adding a page break (as you did for the Bibliography above). It will be useful to turn on the Show'Hide feature here again too.
To insert your Table of Contents, put the cursor at the very beginning of your work, then click on References > Table of Contents > choose option 1 and,voilà,you will have a table of contents.
If you change anything in your essay, add more sections or pages, DON'T try to type changes in the table of contents, instead click on it at the top, choose to update the whole table, and it will make the changes for you.
This resource will help you to keep track of all the different sources you find. Once you start working with each source in more detail, you will also need a tool like the Investigative Journal to organise your notes.
Note that although this version was originally created for the IB EE, it is widely applicable across all subjects and courses, not just IB.
An excellent way to keep track of your investigation. Use one page per source and don't forget to insert a citation at the top of the page. If you choose not to use it, think about what you will use instead.
Note again that this resource is not IB specific.
Normal term-time Library opening hours:
Mon-Fri: 08:30-21:15
Sat: 08:00-16:00
Sun: 14:00-18:00 (Summer Term only)
