Academic Extension: Form 5 Extension

Podcasts

• Talk Art - https://play.acast.com/s/talkart
  • Actor Russell Tovey and gallerist Robert Diament host Talk Art, a podcast dedicated to the world of art featuring exclusive interviews with leading artists, curators & gallerists, and even occasionally their talented friends from other industries like acting, music and journalism. Listen in to explore the magic of art and why it connects us all in such fantastic ways. 
• Art Matters - https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/art-matters/id1343288276
  • A podcast exploring the interesting ways art meets popular culture and non-traditional art topics... We look at what art history and visual culture can tell us about the world around us, and how our everyday interests make us excellent art critics. Hosted by Ferren Gipson.
• Sculpting Lives – https://audioboom.com/channels/5014385
  • This podcast series explores the lives and careers of these five women who worked (and are still working) against these preconceptions, forging successful careers and contributing in ground-breaking ways to the histories of sculpture and art.
  • Each 45-minute episode takes a woman sculptor as its subject, exploring the art works, networks, connections and relationships of these artists. Every programme is recorded in places that are significant for these women – their studios, as well as galleries and public places where their work is on display – and includes new interviews with curators, friends, family and the artists themselves, creating intimate soundscapes of their private and public worlds
• Meet Me at the Museum - https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/meet-me-at-the-museum/id1439186876
  • Famous faces take their best mate, their mum, their neighbour (whoever they want) for an afternoon at a favourite museum or gallery. As well as getting a peek behind the scenes, seeing what makes a museum tick, it's also the starting point for some great conversations about life, the universe and everything.
• The Art of ... - https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-art-of/id1289739388
  • A series telling the human stories behind art in Tate's collection. From love and creativity, to failure and protest, each episode explores how art reflects universal experiences. Hear from creatives, curators, gallery visitors and even comedians as they chat about art and how it's relevant to our lives today.
• Tate podcasts - https://www.tate.org.uk/art/podcasts
  • TateShots presents a selection of short videos, with a focus on modern and contemporary art.

Film/TV/Instagram

• Heni Talks - https://henitalks.com/
• Age of the image - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m000fzmc
  • Documentary series in which art historian James Fox explores how the power of images has transformed the modern world.
• Grayson Perry’s Art Club - https://www.channel4.com/programmes/graysons-art-club
  • Grayson Perry, one of Britain's leading artists, brings the nation together through art, making new works and hosting masterclasses set to unleash our collective creativity during lockdown
• Museums in Quarantine - https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m000hqml/museums-in-quarantine-series-1-1-warhol
• Culture in Quarantine - https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/p08bll64/culture-in-quarantine-get-creative-at-home-masterclasses-antony-gormley
  • Sir Antony Gormley is one of Britain’s leading artists and sculptors, world renowned for his depictions of the human body and for creating the Angel of the North. In this masterclass for the BBC, working in isolation Antony shows us how to create a drawing using simple materials - water, pigment and paper. 
  • Gormley reflects on what this lockdown means to him and how we can all find ways to be creative. It is filmed by his wife Vicken Parsons.

Interactive pages

• Isolation Art School - https://www.instagram.com/isolationartschool/?hl=en
  • Projects, lessons and tips by artists to help people get creative while housebound during the Covid-19 crisis.

Books

• Perry, G. (2014). Playing to the Gallery: Penguin.
• Gompertz, W. (2015). Think like an artist and lead a more creative, productive life: Penguin.
• Krysa, D. (2014). Get unstuck.  Creative Block.  Discover New Ideas. Advice and projects from 50 successful artists: Chronicle Books.
• Congdon, L. (2019). Find your artistic voice.The essential guide to working your creative magic: Chronicle Books.
• Chevalier, T. (2014). Girl With a Pearl Earring London: The Borough Press.
• DeWitte, D. J. (2015). The Thames and Hudson Introduction to Art London: Thames and Hudson.
• Fulford, J and Halpern, G. Eds The Photographer’s Playbook.  207 assignments and ideas: Apeture.

Books

• Enders, G. (2016) Gut: the Story of our Body's most Underrated Organ Melbourne: Scribe.
• Goldacre, B. (2009) Bad Science. London: Harper Collins.
• Harari, Y. N. (2014). Sapiens : A Brief History of Humankind London: Random House.
• Pain, S. (Ed.) (2011) Farmer Buckley's Exploding Trousers: and other odd events on the way to scientific discovery London: Profile.
• Weisman, A. (2008) The World without Us London: Virgin.

Online Reading

• BBC Earth's 10 best stories: http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20161219-here-are-bbc-earths-ten-best-stories-of-2016
• The Biologist: https://thebiologist.rsb.org.uk/biologist
• Science journal for kids and teens: https://sciencejournalforkids.org/
• Concepts of Biology: https://open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/concepts-of-biology

The news

• BBC science news: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science_and_environment
• AAAS science news: https://www.sciencemag.org/category/biology
• Science news for Students: https://www.sciencenewsforstudents.org/
• Science Daily: https://www.sciencedaily.com/news/plants_animals/biology/
• The Naked Scientists news: https://www.thenakedscientists.com/articles/science-news/biology

Podcasts

• The Biologist: https://thebiologist.rsb.org.uk/biologist-features/158-biologist/features/1803-12-of-the-best-podcasts-for-biologists
• BBC David Attenborough’s Life Stories: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00ylsr7/episodes/guide
• Radio 4 In our time – several
  • Biological Processes: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qykl/topics/Biological_processes
  • Metabolism: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qykl/topics/Metabolism
  • The cell: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01mk8vh
  • Parasitism: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08bb9cy
• Radio 3 The Essay – several
  • Intestines https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04l37lk
  • Lungs https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04l37lh
• BBC The big idea: Epigenetics https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/w3csxfj3
• BBC The power of plants: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p01x62y4
• Science alert: https://www.sciencealert.com/6-science-podcasts-you-need-to-be-listening-to-right-now

Learning websites

• The DNA learning centre: https://dnalc.cshl.edu/
• Learn genetics:  https://learn.genetics.utah.edu/
• The Big Picture by Wellcome. https://www.stem.org.uk/big-picture/resource-collection.
• Cells alive: https://www.cellsalive.com/

On TV now

• Science & Nature: https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/categories/science-and-nature/featured

Books

• Berger, J. (2014). Contagious: how to build word of mouth in the digital age. London: Simon & Schuster.
• Hsieh, T. (2010). Delivering happiness : a path to profits, passion and purpose. Business Plus.
• Kotter, J., & Rathgeber, H. (2006). Our iceberg is melting: changing and succeeding under any conditions. London: Macmillan.
• Pink, D. H. (2011). Drive : the surprising truth about what motivates us. Edinburgh: Cannongate.
• Thiel, P., & Masters, B. (2015). Zero to one : notes on start ups, or how to build the future. London: Virgin.

Chemistry News and Updates

• http://www.rsc.org/chemistryworld/ - Register for a free account to access lots of interesting articles linked to chemistry and its applications.
• https://chembam.com/ - A website aimed at students linking a variety of chemistry resources set up by researchers in the field. From career profiles to videos introducing chemical techniques and articles regarding global challenges.
• http://www.rsc.org/eic/mole  - The Royal Society of Chemistry used to run this magazine for students, and anyone inspired to dig deeper into chemistry. The article links are still available and aimed at 5^th-7^th form students.
• http://www.york.ac.uk/chemistry/schools/chemrev/web/  - Chemistry on the web is a list of links to useful articles and journals linked to topics discussed in the main Chemistry Review magazine (which is available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases)
• www.bbc.co.uk/science - Programmes available on BBC iPlayer linked to science and technology.
• www.sciencedaily.com  - Latest research news across many aspects of science.

Interesting articles, programmes and podcasts

• Explore the Philip Allan Magazine archive to get access to a whole host of articles from the Chemistry Review, a magazine aimed at chemistry students. Access this from the Oakham School Library subscription databases.
• http://www.rsc.org/periodic-table/podcast - Interactive periodic table -listen to the stories behind the elements.
• Series available on BBC iplayer: Pain-Pus-and-Poison. BBC documentary series on the history of Chemistry involved in medicines and poisons
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/p01f51s5/pain-pus-and-poison-the-search-for-modern-medicines
• RSC clip on combinatorial chemistry: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVgsX7PM4F4
• Some articles relating to various recent developments:
  • Microplastics and the environment - https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-52489126
  • Organic material linked to Mars - http://www.sci-news.com/space/nitrogen-bearing-organics-martian-meteorite-alh-84001-08383.html
  • Air pollution and Covid-19 - https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/may/04/is-air-pollution-making-the-coronavirus-pandemic-even-more-deadly

Books (all available as Kindle editions)

• The Elements: A Very Short Introduction, Ball, P. (2004). Oxford: OUP. Also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases.
• Molecules: A Very Short Introduction, Ball, P. (2003). Oxford: OUP. Also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases.
• Why does Asparagus make your Wee Smell?: and 57 other curious food and drink questions. Brunning, A. (2016). London: Orion.
• The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison by John Emsley
• Mauve: How One Man Invented a Colour That Changed the World by Simon Garfield
• Molecules at an Exhibition: Portraits of Intriguing Materials in Everyday Life by John Emsley
• Molecules of Murder: Criminal Molecules and Classic Murders by John Emsley
• Napoleon's Buttons: How 17 Molecules Changed History by Jay Burreson

Careers Info and studying Chemistry at University

• https://edu.rsc.org/future-in-chemistry - Recently updated site with lots of information about where Chemistry can take you, including many different job profiles linked to chemistry or related skills.
• http://www.futuremorph.org/  - Career opportunities from science and maths
• Information about applying for chemistry at university - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_O1R9n8Isg

If you have any specific areas of interest that haven’t been covered above then speak to one of the Chemistry department (or email the head of Chemistry at jeg@oakham.rutland.sch.uk) and we will be happy to find further relevant articles for you to develop your interest.

Classical Civilisation

• Roman History
  • The Late Republic as seen through Rome (BBC TV series 1 & 2) put in context:
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDTmgHCVWgg
  • https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jz8WWIz_a-I
• Greek Theatre
  • National Theatre: Introduction to Greek Tragedy - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSr6mP-zxUc

Latin

• Quizlet: AS word list - https://quizlet.com/215489178/as-latin-vocabulary-flash-cards/

Greek

• Eton Greek Project: AS word list. The link below explains how to download the programme and software needed to run in - https://www.etoncollege.com/GreekProject.aspx?nid=e19484e6-707c-44d4-a3d7-f8b93df8751f

Waterfield, R., & Waterfield, K. (2013). The Greek Myths : Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold. London: Quercus.

Books

• Hogan, B. (2015) Exercises for Programmers: 57 Challenges to Develop Your Coding Skills. New York: The Pragmatic Programmers.
• Kubica, J. (2012) Computational Fairy Tales CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform.
• Levitin, A. (2011) Algorithmic Puzzles. New York: Oxford University Press.
• Levy, S. (2010) Hackers: heroes of the computer revolution. Sebastapol: O'Reilly Media.
• Naughton, J. (2000) A brief History of the Future : the Origins of the Internet London: Phoenix.
• Pariser, E. (2012) The Filter Bubble : what the Internet is Hiding from you London: Penguin.

Design Week - https://www.designweek.co.uk/

Video

• How It’s Made - https://www.discoveryuk.com/series/how-its-made/

 OakhamTV from https://start.oakham.rutland.sch.uk/

• The Genius of Design – Series
• Inside Rolls-Royce
• Building Cars Live

Drama Online – Available from the Library’s Subscription Databases

Frantic Assembly - https://www.franticassembly.co.uk/

Crystal, B. (2009). Shakespeare on toast : getting a taste for the bard. London: Icon.

Books

• Machon, J. (2018). The Punchdrunk Encyclopaedia: Routledge
• National Theatre. (2015). All about theatre. London: Walker.
• Sher, A. (2004). Year of the King. London: Nick Hern.
• Aristotle. (1996). Poetics. London: Penguin.
• Mitchell, K. (2009). The Director’s Craft: Routledge
• Graham, S. (2014). The Frantic Assembly Book of Devising Theatre : Routledge 

EAP Foundation Podcasts - https://www.eapfoundation.com/listening/podcasts/

Books

• DiCamillo, K. (2006). The tale of Despereaux. London: Candlewick.
• Palacio, R. J. (2014). Wonder. London: Corgi.
• Rockwell, T. (2014). How to eat fried worms. London: Orchard.
• Spinelli, J. (2016). Stargirl. London: Orchard.
• Zusak, M. (2008). The Book Thief. London: Black Swan.

Books

• Antonioni, P., & Flynn, S. M. (2010). Economics for dummies. Chichester: John Wiley & Sons.
• Dubner, S. J., & Levitt, S. D. (2007). Freakonomics : a rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything. London: Penguin.
• CGP. (2015). A-level year I & AS economics : complete revision & practice. Broughton-in-Furness: CGP.
• Kishtainy, N. (2014). Economics in minutes . London: Quercus.
• Klein, G., & Bauman, Y. (2014). The cartoon introduction to economics. New York: Hill & Wang.

Books

• Brontë, C. (2006). Jane Eyre. London: Penguin Classics.
• Collins, S. (2009). The Hunger Games. New York: Scholastic.
• Golding, W. (1997). Lord of the Flies. London: Faber & Faber.
• Miller, M. (2012). The Song of Achilles. London: Bloomsbury.
• Zusak, M. (2008). The Book Thief. London: Black Swan.
• I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith.

Books

• Cocker, M. (2019). Our Place: Can We Save Britain's Wildlife Before It Is Too Late?. New York: Vintage Publishing.
• Jacobson, M. Z. (2012). Air pollution and global warming : history, science, and solutions. Cambridge: OUP.
• Jeffries, M. J. (2005). Biodiversity and conservation. London: Routledge.
• Lovelock, J. (2000). Gaia : a new look at life on earth. Oxford: OUP.
• Lymbery, P. (2015). Farmageddon : the true cost of cheap meat. London: Bloomsbury.
• Platt, R. (2007). The vanishing rainforest. London: Frances Lincoln.
• The Hockey Stick Illusion by A. W. Montford.
• The Human Planet: How we created the Anthropocene by Lewis and Maslin.
• How Bad are Bananas?: The Carbon Footprint of Everything by Mike Berners-Lee.

You will all have different levels/abilities/interests, so here is a list of material which might keep you busy and interested! The films and series all have subtitles, so that is a bit easier. The podcasts are probably a bit trickier, but some have really good websites too. The websites are quite fun. And there is so much out there…so go and explore!

Amusez-vous bien!

Books

• Guy de Maupassant Boule de Suif et autres contes de la guerre
• Françoise Sagan Bonjour tristesse
• Claire Etcherelli Elise ou la vraie vie
• Faïza Guène Kiffe kiffe demain
• Philippe Grimbert Un secret
• Delphine de Vigan No et moi

Films and Series - Netflix

• Call My Agent! This well written show takes place in a Parisian talent agency and depicts the lives of the agents in a moving and funny way with cameos of famous French actors in every episode. Get ready to be hooked on a true Parisian accent! 2 seasons – 12 episodes – 48min
• The Returned A group of people come back to their Alpine village and discover that they’ve been dead for several years. This dark and moody show will drive you into a mysterious universe! The cinematography is gorgeous and the slow-paced storytelling makes it easier to follow the dialogues in French. 2 seasons – 16 episodes – 55min
• A Very Secret Service A group of people come back to their Alpine village and discover that they’ve been dead for several years. This dark and moody show will drive you into a mysterious universe! The cinematography is gorgeous and the slow-paced storytelling makes it easier to follow the dialogues in French. 2 seasons – 16 episodes – 55min
• No Second ChanceA doctor is attacked, her husband gets killed and her daughter kidnapped. Outraged, she decides to lead her own investigation. This fast-paced thriller adapted from a Harlan Coben novel is addicting! 1 season – 6 episodes – 58min
• The Long Holiday Two Parisian children are brought to Normandy by their parents at the dawn of World War II. They discover a new life in the French countryside and learn what war is about. Witnessing the war through children eyes is a very enlightening perspective and the classic style of the animation is very enjoyable. As the show is initially intended for kids the dialogues are slower and easier to understand! 1 season – 5 episodes – 48min
• The Break In a small Belgian town, the dead body of an African football player is found in a river. The killer might be hiding in the community. This very mysterious series proves that Belgian TV has a lot to offer! Some of the characters speak with pretty thick accents, which makes it interesting and funny! 1 season – 10 episodes – 50min
• French films: https://www.netflix.com/search?q=french%20film&suggestionId=6733_genre

Films and Series - Amazon Prime

• The 5 Best French Movies on Amazon Prime Right Now
  • “Avida”
  • “Les Innocentes” (“The Innocents”)
  • “Hors de Prix” (“Priceless”)
  • “Des chiens dans la neige” (“Wolves in the Snow”)
  • “Le Démantèlement” (“The Auction”)
  • https://www.fluentu.com/blog/french/best-french-movies-on-amazon-prime/

Podcasts

• https://www.francaisauthentique.com/podcasts/
• https://onethinginafrenchday.podbean.com/
• https://savoirs.rfi.fr/fr/apprendre-enseigner/langue-francaise/journal-en-francais-facile
• http://frenchyourway.com.au/category/frenchvoices
• A list for you to peruse yourselves ! https://www.buzzfeed.com/fr/jenniferpadjemi/une-liste-des-meilleurs-podcasts-francais-que-vous-devriez-e

Web sites

• https://www.frenchtoday.com/french-poetry-reading/?ref=5
• https://www.cnews.fr/
• https://www.canalplus.com/divertissement/
• http://secouchermoinsbete.fr/

Introduction

Remote learning provides you with a unique opportunity to engage with your subjects, beyond the normal curriculum, due to the increased independence and flexibility that you have each week.

Below are some resources and ideas to help you to widen your geographical understanding and engage deeper within Geography.

• RGS Young Geographer of the Year competition - Deadline June 30th 2020, 5pm

Books

• Rosling, H., Rosling, O. & Rosling Rönland, A. (2018) Factfulness: Ten Reasons We're Wrong About The World - And Why Things Are Better Than You Think. London: Hodder & Stoughton
• Marshall, T. (2018) Divided: Why we’re living in an age of walls. London: Elliott and Thompson.
• Kelman, I. (2020) Disaster by Choice: How our actions turn natural hazards into catastrophes. Oxford: OUP.

News

• BBC News
• The Guardian
• British Antarctic Survey
• World Economic Forum
• NASA Global Climate Change

Contribute

• Contribute to global humanitarian assistance - Missing Maps: https://www.missingmaps.org/
• Contribute to climate science - transcribing historical rainfall data: https://www.zooniverse.org/projects/edh/rainfall-rescue/about/research
• Help make London more sustainable: Colouring London (for Londoners)

Listen

• Overheard – National Geographic Podcast 
• Science Weekly – The Guardian Podcast 
• Ask the geographer Podcasts 
• The Development Podcast – World Bank 
• The World Economic Forum Podcasts
• Planet Money – The economy explained
• RGS Online Lectures 
• BBC Costing the Earth 
• BBC The Documentary Podcast 
• Living Planet Podcast 
• RGS Podcasts
  • A conversation with Tim Marshall, author of the seminal book Prisoners of Geography https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/conversation-tim-marshall-author-seminal-book-prisoners/id1196746426?i=1000471543413
  • How does international aid work? Dr Emma Mawdsley - https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/how-does-international-aid-work-dr-emma-mawdsley/id1196746426?i=1000446145669
  • How is globalisation changing the countryside? Professor Michael Wood - https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/how-is-globalisation-changing-countryside-professor/id1196746426?i=1000447591959

Watch

• World economic forum videos 
• Royal Geographical Society Youtube 
• iPlayer Science and Nature Playlist 
• BBC Earth 
• Expedition Volcano
• iPlayer Earth from Space 
• iPlayer Climate Change Playlist 
• iPlayer Race Across the World 
• iPlayer Africa with Ade Adepitan 
• Time for Geography subject knowledge boosters 
• TED Talks
  • How will we survive when the population hits 10 billion? (Charles Mann). https://www.ted.com/talks/charles_c_mann_how_will_we_survive_when_the_population_hits_10_billion#t-591942
  • How not to be ignorant about the world (Hans Rosling). https://www.ted.com/talks/hans_and_ola_rosling_how_not_to_be_ignorant_about_the_world#t-2604
  • The good news on poverty (Bono) https://www.ted.com/talks/bono_the_good_news_on_poverty_yes_there_s_good_news#t-413684
  • How to protect fast growing cities from failing. (Robert Muggah). https://www.ted.com/talks/robert_muggah_how_to_protect_fast_growing_cities_from_failing#t-706681

Quiz

• How well do you know Europe?
• Explore the world with Geography map games
• Geography Development Game
• Flag play fun

Explore

• Google Expeditions - ’See anything, go anywhere’ – 360  immersive experiences.

Challenge

• MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses - FREE) Full List here: https://www.futurelearn.com/
  • Extreme Geological Events (3 weeks, 4hrs per week) https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/extreme-geological-events
  • Climate Change: The Science (4 weeks, 3hrs per week) https://www.futurelearn.com/courses/climate-change-the-science

Flipboards

• Human and Physical Geography - https://flipboard.com/topic/geography
• The Geography of Covid-19 - https://flipboard.com/@richardallaway/the-geography-of-covid-19-d7te7li0z
• The geographical impact of drones - https://flipboard.com/@richardallaway/drones---a-disruptive-technology-jo4g17iez
• Wealth and development. - https://flipboard.com/@sarmitage/wealth-and-development-rs7kc33fz

Geography fun

• Lots of top 50 of things, for example look at 50 Cool Maps of Europe for Geography Buffs. https://www.farandwide.com/

The Goethe-Institut has a fabulous Digital Library, including an excellent selection of films, that is free to use for anyone with permanent residence outside Germany - register at https://www.goethe.de/ins/gb/en/kul/ser/onl.html

Deutsch Perfekt - https://www.deutsch-perfekt.com/

Logo Nachrichten - https://www.zdf.de/kinder/logo/ - German news programme for young people

Books

• Herrndorf, W. (2012). Tschick.
• Pausewang, G (2011). Die Wolke.
• Poznanski, U. (2011). Erebos.
• Brussig, T. (2001). Am kürzeren Ende Der Sonnenallee.
• Funke, C. (2019). Das Labyrinth des Fauns.

Audiopi - Podcasts aimed at GCSE and A-Level students. Available from the Subscription Databases page.

BBC iPlayer History, especially

• Mrs Thatcher – A Very British Revolution
• Andrew Marr on Winston Churchill
• Kenneth Clark – Civilisation [many episodes – iconic BBC series]
• Vienna – Empire, Dynasty and Dream
• Witchhunt
• Lost Home Movies of Nazi Germany

Netflix, especially

• Bobby Kennedy for President [brilliant new documentary]
• The Fog of War [documentary about Robert McNamara]

Books

• Bull, A. (2000). Free at last! : the story of Martin Luther King, Jr. London: Dorling Kindersley.
• Coppard, G. (1999). With a machine gun to Cambrai. London: Phoenix.
• Cornioley, P. W. (2015). Code name Pauline : memoirs of a second world war secret agent. Chicago: Chicago Review.
• Harman, C. (1999). A people’s history of the world. London: Verso.
• Northup, S. (2015). Twelve years a slave. CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform.
• Martin Gilbert – History of the 20^th Century – Challenge to Civilisation
• Hope and Glory – Peter Clarke
• The Prime Ministers – Steve Richards
• A People’s Tragedy –  Orlando Figes
• Natasha’s Dance –  Orlando Figes
• American Caesars – Nigel Hamilton
• The Rise and Fall of the British Nation – David Edgerton
• The Last of the Tsars – Robert Service
• History of Britain – Simon Schama
• A History of the World – JM Roberts
• In the Shadow of Churchill – David Cannindine
• The Winds of Change – Peter Hennessy
• Having it So Good – Peter Hennessy
• Never Again – Peter Hennessy
• History of Modern Russia – Robert Service
• Russia A History – Gregory Freeze
• The Romanovs – Simon Sebag Montefiore

Film

• Here are three films that have been box-office hits and have powerful stories to tell
  • I cento passi (The one hundred steps) – The true story of Peppino Impastato, a political activist who  lived 100 steps away from the mafia boss and dared to opposed the Mafia in Sicily.
  • La vita e' bella (Life is Beautiful) – Released in 1997,this is one of the highest-grossing non-English language movies of all time.
  • Io non ho paura (I am not Scared) – This is a crime, mystery thriller set in the deep south of Italy.  It is guaranteed to have you on the edge of your seat.
• BBC iPlayer is now showing all 34 episodes of Inspector Montalbano, which has a popular following in the UK.

Duolingo - To get a sound and feel for the language, try the Duolingo app.

Books

• Enzensberger, H. M. (2008). The number devil : a mathematical adventure. London: Granta.
• Poskitt, K. (2010). The mean and vulgar bits (Murderous Maths). London: Scholastic.
• Stewart, I. (2010). Professor Stewart's hoard of mathematical treasures. London: Profile Books.
• Bellos, A. (2011). Alex’s adventures in numberland. London: Bloomsbury.
• Doxiadis, A., & Papadimitriou, C. (2009). Logicomix : an epic search for truth. London: Bloomsbury.
• Eastaway, R. (2005). Why do buses come in threes? : the hidden maths of everyday life. London: Robson Books.
• Polya, G. (2014). How to solve it : a new aspect of mathematical method. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

Recommended Reading

• Cook, N. (2000). Music: a very short introduction. Oxford: OUP. Also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases.
• Glover, J., Jones, D. W. (2002). A performers’ guide to music of the classical period. Oxford: OUP.
• John Eliot Gardiner – Music in the castle of heaven

Wider Reading

• Ross, A. (2009). The rest is noise : listening to the twentieth century. London: Harper Perennial.
• Bohlman, P.V. (2002). World music : a very short introduction. Oxford: OUP. Also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases.

Books

• Jennifer Nagel, Knowledge: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford) - also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases
• Simon Blackburn, Ethics: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford) - also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases
• Edward Craig, Philosophy: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford) - also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases
• Nigel Warburton, A Little History of Philosophy (Yale)
• Nigel Warburton, Philosophy: The Basics (Routledge)

Podcast

• Panpsycast; YouTube: Crash Course Philosophy

Also watch: The Good Place (Netflix)

The following books are recommended for reading. In most cases, they are ‘light’(ish) reading and aimed at general physics knowledge or the development of an idea/concept. They are NOT aimed at the syllabus material.

• Fear of Physics - Lawrence Krauss
• The Fifth Miracle - Paul Davies
• Black Holes, Wormholes and Time machines - Jim Al-Khalili
• The collapse of chaos - Jack Cohen & Ian Stewart
• Introducing the universe - Felix Pirani & Christine Roche
• Schrodinger’s Kittens - John Gribbin
• The New Quantum universe - Tony Hey and Patrick Walters
• Splitting the Second - Tony Jones
• Surely You’re Joking Mr Feynman - Richard P Feynman
• Longitude - Dava Sobel
• Particle Physics: a very short introduction - Frank Close
• Six Easy Pieces - Richard Feynman
• Introducing Quantum Theory - McEvoy and Zarate
• QED - Richard Feynman
• How to Dunk a Doughnut - Len Fisher
• Light and Dark - David Greene
• The Elegant Universe - Brian Greene
• Quantum Physics: A Beginner's Guide - Alastair I.M. Rae
• 50 Physics Ideas You Really Need to Know - Joanne Baker
• The Fabric of the Cosmos - Brian Greene
• Mr Tompkins in Paperback - George Gamow
• The Physics of Superheroes - James Kakalios
• Wrinkles In Time: The Imprint of Creation - George Smoot and Keay Davidson
• Big Bang - Simon Singh
• Why does E=mc2 - Brian Cox
• How the Universe will end - Brian Cox
• Only in e-book format Atomic Accidents: A History of Nuclear Meltdowns and Disasters: From the Ozark Mountains to Fukushima - James Mahaffe.

The Oxford University Press Very Short Introductions and generally very good, all of which are available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases.

In addition, there are a number of interesting New Scientist books that are worth looking at, including:

• Question Everything: 132 science questions - and their unexpected answers
• Nothing: From absolute zero to cosmic oblivion - amazing insights into nothingness
• Will We Ever Speak Dolphin?
• Do Polar Bears Get Lonely?
• Why Can't Elephants Jump?
• Why Don't Penguins' Feet Freeze?
• Why are Orangutans Orange?
• Does Anything Eat Wasps?
• Will We Ever Speak Dolphin?

Books

• Mearsheimer, J. (2014). The tragedy of great power politics. London: W. W. Norton & Company.
• Pike, J. (2016). Project fear : how an unlikely alliance left a kingdom united but a country divided. London: Biteback.
• Ross, T. (2015). Why the Tories won : the inside story of the 2015 election. London: Biteback.
• Schelling, T. C. (2008). Arms and influence. London: Yale University Press.
• Seldon, A., & Snowden, P. (2015). Cameron at 10 : the inside story 2010-2015. London: William Collins.
• Cameron, D. ( 2019). - For the Record.
• Peston, R. (2017). WTF.
• Runciman, D. (2018). How democracy ends.
• Jones, O. (2020). This Land: The story of a movement.
• Marshall, T. Prisoners of Geography: Ten Maps That Tell You Everything You Need to Know About Global Politics.
• Gimson, A. (2016). Boris.
• Wolff, M. (2018). Fire and Fury. 
• Robinson, J. (2012). Why Nations Fail.

Podcasts

• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02nq0gn/episodes/player - BBC Global News Podcast
• https://podcasts.apple.com/ie/podcast/un-news/id304114245 - UN News 
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/w3cswkdj - BBC The Real Story – Is the Nation State in decline?
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/w3csydcr - BBC World Service The Real Story
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/w3cswqvr - BBC World Service The Inquiry
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02nrs6c/episodes/downloads - BBC Radio 4 Westminster Hour
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02nrtpm/episodes/downloads - BBC From Our Own Correspondent
• https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p05299nl/episodes/downloads - BBC 5 Live Brexitcast
• https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/election-cambridge-politics/id974670140?mt=2 - Talking Politics (David Runciman)

Books

• Tim Bayne, Philosophy of Religion: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford) - also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases
• Simon Blackburn, Ethics: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford) - also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases
• Jonathan Brown, Muhammad: A Very Short Introduction (Oxford) - also available from the Oakham School Library subscription databases
• Peter Vardy, The Puzzle of God (Routledge)
• Peter Vardy, The Puzzle of Ethics (Routledge)

Podcast

• Audiopi (OCR RS GCSE Islam for background) and Panpsycast

Also watch: The Good Place (Netflix)

Books

• La Ciudad de las Bestias - Isabel Allende - https://charlaenespanol.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/allendeisabel-la-ciudad-de-las-bestias.pdf
• El Príncipe de la niebla - Carlos Ruiz Zafón - http://www.iesluisvelez.org/blogs/tejiendoredesylibros/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/el-principe-de-la-niebla-2%C2%BA-ESO.pdf   

Audiovisual

• Campeones - Javier Fesser - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mUeoXv3f88A
• Interview with Freddie Highmore of “The good doctor”- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Va0l3x5J7vE  

Article

• El ¿mal? uso de los smartphones en la adolescencia. http://revistaindependientes.com/el-mal-uso-de-los-smartphones-en-la-adolescencia/  

Podcast

• Duolingo Spanish podcast - Fascinating stories in easy-to-understand Spanish - https://podcast.duolingo.com/spanish  

Website

• Spanish lessons with Pablo - https://spanishlessons.podbean.com/  

Sports Psychology

• https://www.open.edu/openlearn/free-courses/full-catalogue - A catalogue of free courses
• ‘Health, Sports and Psychology’ section: ‘Eating to Win- activity, diet and weight control’, ‘Sports psychology and Coaching’ and ‘Career mentoring and coaching’.
• Sports Psychology- London 2012- success and failure. Matthew Syed - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BxgQ61aKANw&feature=youtu.be&t=340
• https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fpsyg.2015.02009/full
• https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s40279-016-0476-2
• https://theconversation.com/will-the-olympics-really-inspire-more-people-to-play-sport-8913
• https://community.ukcoaching.org/spaces/17/coaching-children-ages-5-12/blogs/general/218/let-the-creative-sparks-fly-the-c-system-chapter-two

Sociology in Sport

• https://theconversation.com/andy-murray-breaking-away-from-sports-no-pain-no-gain-culture-109824
• https://www.ted.com/talks/david_epstein_are_athletes_really_getting_faster_better_stronger
• https://www.ted.com/talks/valorie_kondos_field_why_winning_doesn_t_always_equal_success
• https://www.bloomberg.com/podcasts/business_of_sports - good podcasts

Book recommendations

• Matthew Syed
  • The greatest
  • Bounce
  • Black box thinking (Sports Psychology)
• The Chimp paradox - Steve Peters (Sports Psychology)
• Dweck, C. (2012) Mindset: How you can Fulfil your Potential, London, Hachette
• Unbeatable - Jessica Ennis
• Shoe Dog - Phil Knight (History/Story of Nike)
• Between the lines - Victoria Pendleton
• The Pressure Principle - Dr Dave Alred (Sports Psychology)
• The Secret race - Tyler Hamilton  Drugs/energy systems/Deviance
• My Time- Bradley Wiggins
• Katherine Grainger - My Autobiography
• Legacy - James Kerr (New Zealand Rugby- All Blacks)

Film and TV – Netflix

• The English game (Sport and society)
• Unstoppable (Sports psychology)
• Stop at nothing (Doping in Sport)
• Icarus (Doping in Sport)
• Coach Carter (Sports psychology)
• The Last Dance (Michael Jordan)
• Moneyball
• Last Chance U (American Football)
• Losers (Adversity in Sport)
• Supersize Me (Diet and Nutrition)

Film and TV – Amazon Prime Video

• Andy Murray: Resurfacing (Sports injuries/rehab)
• All or Nothing (New Zealand All Blacks)
• The Test (Australian Cricket- Deviance in Sport)
• The Program (Lance Armstrong)
• 4 Minute Mile
• Dan Carter: A Perfect 10
• Muscle and Medals
• The Unknown Runner
• The Race to Dope (Drugs in Sport)
• This is Football

Film and TV – YouTube

• Kobe Bryant- Black Mamba Documentary
• Being Serena
• ‘Is Professionalism Killing Sport?’ - BBC Documentary
• The Psychology of a winner 2020
• Trent Alexander Arnold: Living the Dream - Sky Sports Documentary
• Jurgen Klopp - Journey to the top
• Subscribe to The Body Coach (types of training and Nutrition)
• TED Talk: ‘Why you should have your own black box’ Mathew Syed - Sports Psychology
• TED Talk: ‘Why winning doesn’t always equal success’ Valerie Kondos
• TED Talk: Are we born to run? Chris McDougall

Articles:

• JSTOR Article. (To access JSTOR, use the login details given on the Subscription Databases page – use the “Log in” link NOT the “Log in through your library” link – before clicking on the hyperlinks given for these articles)
  • Gratton, C., Shibli, S., & Coleman, R. (2005). Sport and Economic Regeneration in Cities. Urban Studies, 42(5/6), 985-999. Retrieved May 6, 2020, from www.jstor.org/stable/43197308
• Duarte R, Araujo D, Correia V, Davids K (2012a) Sports teams as superorganisms: implications of sociobiological models of behaviour for research and practice in team sports performance analysis. Sports Med 42(8):633–642. Retrieved from: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Ricardo_Duarte4/publication/227707242_Sports_Teams_as_Superorganisms_Implications_of_Sociobiological_Models_of_Behaviour_for_Research_and_Practice_in_Team_Sports_Performance_Analysis/links/54100d5c0cf2d8daaad0c899.pdf
• McCann, M. (2020, May 24) The Legal Complications of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics Postponement. Retrieved from Sports Illustrated: https://www.si.com/olympics/2020/03/24/olympic-tokyo-2020-postponement-coronavirus-legal-impact-sponsorships-contracts

Books

• Brockman, J. (2015). This idea must die : scientific theories that are blocking progress. London: Harper Perennial.
• Gaarder, J. (2015). Sophie's world. London: Weidenfeld & Nicolson.
• Kaku, M. (2015). The future of the mind : the scientific quest to understand, enhance and empower the mind. London: Penguin.
• Lima, M. (2014). The book of trees : visualizing branches of knowledge. Princeton: Princeton Architectural Press.
• Priest, G. (2000). Logic : a very short introduction. Oxford: OUP. Also available from the Oakham School Library Subscription Databases page.