Use the resources below to find out the advantages and disadvantages of using fracking as a method of retrieving gas and oil. 

MUST - these are the ones to read for prep

Fracking ban welcomed near UK's only shale gas wells - BBC News

SHOULD - if you read these too, you'll find some more helpful information

Fracking halted after government pulls support - BBC News

COULD - if you are really interested in this topic, give these a go too

In case you don't have a copy, here is the worksheet you will be using to record the implications of fracking, as well as to consider your opinion on this technique:

This presentation explains the importance of CRAAP testing your information sources. The CRAAP testing guide on the right will give you further details:

Print resources from the library collection:

Subscription databases articles

(If you are not on the school network, you will need to log in from the subscription databases page and then come back here to gain access)

Articles from Britannica Intermediate:

Royal Army Medical Corps -- Britannica School (eb.co.uk) - this article covers several medical advances that helped save lives during WWI.

Other online resources:

Medical developments in World War One - The British Library (bl.uk) - part of the British Library's digitised collection of WWI materials.  Lots more to discover on this site too.

Stem cell articles, media resources and websites

Start with these:

Adult and embryonic stem cells

https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/znyycdm/articles/z9wj8hv

Stem cell research and medicine

(You may need to open ERA Video Streaming Platform from the subscription databases page and then come back to click on this link to gain access)

https://era.org.uk/streaming-service-resource/how-science-changed-our-world-stem-cell-research-bbc-one/

Britannica article: stem cells

(If you are not on the school network, you will need to log in from the subscription databases page and then come back here to gain access)

https://school.eb.co.uk/levels/intermediate/article/stem-cell/544349

An article from The Day about organ transplants

(You may need to open The Day from the subscription databases page and then come back to click on this link to gain access)

https://theday.co.uk/scientists-make-first-human-monkey-embryo/?reading_level=5

Move on to these:

NHS: stem cell transplant

https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/stem-cell-transplant/

EuroStemCell: Embryonic stem cell research: an ethical dilemma

https://www.eurostemcell.org/embryonic-stem-cell-research-ethical-dilemma

EuroStemCell: What diseases and conditions can be treated with stem cells?

https://www.eurostemcell.org/what-diseases-and-conditions-can-be-treated-stem-cells

Try these if you want more information:

Website of the International Society for Stem Cell Research

https://www.aboutstemcells.org/

https://www.aboutstemcells.org/info/biology

https://www.genome.gov/about-genomics/fact-sheets/Cloning-Fact-Sheet

Pros and Cons of stem cell research

https://www.thoughtco.com/pros-cons-of-embryonic-stem-cell-research-3325609

Book sections

If you are not in school, these are relevant sections from books that we have in the library:

Print resources from the library collection:

Subscription databases articles

(If you are not on the school network, you will need to log in from the subscription databases page and then come back here to gain access)

Articles from Britannica Intermediate:

abolitionist movement -- Britannica School (eb.co.uk) - as well as the article, have a look at the 'related' tab for more information and links to other sources

slavery and serfdom -- Britannica School (eb.co.uk) - the second half of this article is relevant to abolition.  Scroll down or use the table of contents to navigate.

This Oxford University Press photo essay might also be helpful:

Photo Essay - Slave Narratives | Oxford African American Studies Center (oxfordaasc.com)

Two of the titles in the Oxford Very Short Introductions series have a lot more information if that is what you would like. Use the Contents page to find chapters you might be interested in, or use the 'search within' box on the left-hand side:

Abolitionism: A Very Short Introduction - Very Short Introductions

American Slavery: A Very Short Introduction - Very Short Introductions